The 2018 Madeleine Maraldi Awards

The Madeleine Maraldi Award for Teaching Excellence

Honoring Excellence in Teaching

The Madeleine Maraldi Award, created by Martin J. and Patricia Koldyke, honors the accomplishments and visionary ideas of Ms. Maraldi within our community. As a professional educator, Ms. Maraldi demonstrated her passion for education and her dedication to the children and youth of the Chicago Public School system by ensuring their exposure to rich learning experiences and the arts, despite their socioeconomic backgrounds.

Pictured (left to right): Martin “Mike” Koldyke (AUSL Founder), Madeleine Maraldi, and AUSL Executive Director, Dr. Donald Feinstein

This award seeks to recognize outstanding teachers within the our network of schools who excel in their efforts to provide a unique, exceptional, and inspiring education to the children in the communities that we serve.

Maraldi Awards Criteria

Highly Effective
The school leaders and teachers across grade-levels demonstrate an extraordinary will to lead students to academic excellence through AUSL-aligned practices with a commitment to elevating student achievement through a balance of whole and small group instruction.

Articulate Practitioners
The school leaders and teachers show a keen understanding of effective instructional practice and the will to open up their practice, receive coaching, and showcase their practice for others to learn from.

Committed Professionals
School leadership expresses a passion for elevating AUSL instructional practices and supports teachers in this effort. Teachers express passion for teaching and a deep commitment to the profession as evident through participation as a team member.

The 2018 Nominees

Fuller School of Excellence

Marilyn McCottrell, Principal

Debra Fields, 1st Grade

Marley Olivera, 7th/8th Grade ELA

Kelsey McCarty, 7th/8th Grade Math

Kelsey McCarty, 7th/8th Grade Math

Sharron Carroll, Academic Director & Coach

Gresham School of Excellence

Tosha Jackson, Principal

Brittany Anderson, ELA Diverse Learners

Maria Britton, 2nd Grade ELA

Stacey Ernvall, Middle School Math

Zerneva Ziga, 4th Grade ELA

Ashley Goss, Coach

Kim Oliver, Academic Director

Piccolo School of Excellence

Michael Abello, Principal

Anna Campbell, 3rd Grade

Andrew Johnson, 5th Grade Math

Emily Leinss, 7th Grade Reading

Danyell Stone, 8th Grade Math

The 2018 Award Recipients

And this year’s recipients are…